Thursday, September 13, 2012


    Circling ever closer to a truth concealed behind layers of conspiracy, assassination, and horrific acts of global terrorism, Jack Flynn and his team of clandestine covert operatives are on the run, barely ahead of the forces of a vast global enterprise engineered to bring about anarchy and the destruction of the free west.

   In Cuba, fueled by an ancient vengeance, a ruthless crime lord sets in motion a plan to assassinate the leader of the worlds newest democracy. Jack strikes at the heart of this plot only to find himself face-to-face with the woman he thought lost to him forever. Together, Jack and Mercedes are on a collision course with a terrifying criminal mastermind whose strategies are already in motion and far, far ahead of schedule.

   The Crystal Falcon is the third book in the Jack Be Nimble thriller series.

The Jack Be Nimble series follow the story of celebrity actor Jack, who just so happens to also help solve international crimes. Along with the Lois Lane-like Mercedes, who is not only pretty, but insanely intuitive. The reader does not only get personal relationships between the characters. But world wide travels, detailed and researched plot lines and a rather ingenious villains.

The third book in the series spends a lot of time in Cuba. It was gripping from the very first page in which we are exploring a vacated island in which the tenants moved out very recently, and very fast. Food still rotting in the fridge and possessions strewn around in each of the houses. But what about the insanely detailed clean up job of removing all technology, wiring and electronics. But with there is still one paper, jammed in the back of one of the desks that has some clues. Fingerprints.

It's really hard to put down these books, they are action packed with just a great amount of research and detail put into them that it's bound to keep your eyes glued to the pages.

While the previous books took us from Paris, London, San Francisco, this book does a lot of focusing on Cuba. It is somewhere I haven't read much about and I enjoyed the writing that makes you feel like you are actually there. There is so much detail and visuals in the writing it's really hard not to lose yourself.

If you enjoy international thrill writers like Dan Brown, I recommend you give this series a try. You'll pretty much be hooked after book one. You Welcome.

This post will appear on my other blog as well September 15 2012.

Tuesday, June 12, 2012

Fun news from my favorite Author!

Press Release – June 2012
Award-winning Aussie Creators Go Psychic
Hoodlum Entertainment and author, Marianne Delacourt, team up to bring sass and murder our TV screens.
Step aside The Mentalist and Lie to Me, there’s a new psychic in town and she’s home-grown. Meet Tara Sharp, an unemployed, twenty-something with a gift for reading auras and body language. Add a dose of dangerous clients and a bunch of oddball friends and you have the ingredients for a first rate comic mystery television series.
Bestselling, award-winning author Marianne Delacourt and award-winning multiplatform production company Hoodlum, today announced the option of Delacourt’s Tara Sharp series published by Allen and Unwin.
The books follow the exploits of Tara Sharp as she negotiates the seedier side of Australian suburbia in her role as a maverick psychic.
“Hoodlum is producing some of the world’s best multiplatform entertainment. They’ve well and truly stamped their presence on the international scene and it’s brilliant to see an Australian company leading the way,” says Delacourt.
Hoodlum is an Emmy® Award-winning multiplatform production company that specialises in producing high quality entertainment content engaging fans in television, film, online, mobile and emerging media platforms for worldwide distribution. In 2009 Hoodlum won a Primetime Emmy® for their work on LOST and an International Emmy® for their work on Primeval in 2010. The company has won two BATFA Awards, a Global Media Award and the Broadcast Digital Channel Award.
Marianne Delacourt won the Davitt award in 2010 for the first Tara Sharp novel entitled Sharp Shooter. Delacourt is well known to readers as her alter ego, science fiction writer, Marianne de Pierres. As Marianne de Pierres she’s been published internationally, translated into a dozen languages and won an Aurealis Award for Best Science Fiction novel.

Monday, January 23, 2012

Jack Be Nimble: Tyro (Book 2) By Ben English

The adventure that began in fire and terror in the night sky over London has brought Jack Flynn and his friends together again, to strike a blow against the forces of a brilliant, sadistic technologist bent on unspeakable destruction. Yet a single blow by itself has not turned the tide of this secret war, and Jack must divide his team to realize any chance of defeating the hidden army arrayed against them.

Mercedes Adams evades the assassins sent against her only to be visited by a more dangerous, intimate threat from her past. As her path brings her closer and closer to Jack—on a mad dash from Paris to San Francisco to Los Angeles to Havana, Cuba—Mercedes discovers the hope of survival and salvation in the lessons learned years ago in the freshness of youth, lessons learned by an eager boy, a maverick, an earnest novice…a Tyro.

What I love about this series and why I will continue to keep reading them, is the characters. I enjoy the interaction between all of the characters, if they are the bad guys or the good guys. They all are incredibly well-rounded in which I mean the reader gets to know and learn about each of the characters as if they were carrying the story alone. But they don't, these books are told from different perspectives.
Also we get to travel around the world, from Paris to San Francisco and Cuba. I enjoy that we get a little bit of historical background into the cities , it's as if the settings are a character of their own.
You'll get a little bit of everything that the first book introduced as well, some international political conflicts, spys with fast and fancy toys, advanced technology and the heart of the story, great characters.
This author will appeal to fans of James Patterson and Dan Brown.